New stories await you this October with some exciting fantasy and sci-fi books being released this month! October has a bit of everything with soulwalkers, princesses, parasitic aliens, a hellish library, and much more, so you’ll be sure to find something amongst our picks!

October 2019 Fantasy Sci-Fi Books

Beyond the Black Door by A.M. Strickland
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Beyond the Black Door is a young adult dark fantasy about unlocking the mysteries around and within us―no matter the cost …

The Throne of the Five Winds by S.C. Emmett
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Two queens, two concubines, six princes. Innumerable hidden agendas. Yala, lady-in-waiting to the princess of a vanquished kingdom, must navigate their captors’ treacherous imperial court.

Crier’s War by Nina Varela
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

The Secret Commonwealth (The Book of Dust #2) by Philip Pullman
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Return to the parallel world of His Dark Materials in the second volume of Philip Pullman’s new bestselling masterwork The Book of Dust, and discover what comes next for Lyra.

October 2019 Fantasy Sci-Fi Books

Salvaged by Madeleine Roux
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

In this dark science fiction thriller, a young woman must confront her past so the human race will have a future. A woman on the run. A captain adrift in space. One of them is infected with an alien parasite…

The Vagabond King by Jodie Bond
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

In a land where immortality can be bought, cruelty thrives… Exiled and alone, Threon is torn from a life in the palace to scrape a living on the streets of a foreign land. Once a prince whose every whim was obliged, now this vagabond must adapt to survive. Throwing his lot in with a witch, a rebel soldier and a woman touched by a god, he seeks retribution for the wrongs committed against his family.

The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future by Veronica Roth
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers a stunning collection of novella-length stories set in the future, illustrated with startling black-and-white artwork.

The Library Of The Unwritten by A.J. Hackwith
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

In the first book in a brilliant new fantasy series, books that aren’t finished by their authors reside in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell, and it is up to the Librarian to track down any restless characters who emerge from those unfinished stories.

October 2019 Fantasy Sci-Fi Books

Escaping Exodus by Nicky Drayden
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Compton Crook award–winning author of The Prey of Gods and Temper returns with a dazzling stand-alone novel, set in deep space, in which the fate of humanity rests on the slender shoulders of an idealistic and untested young woman—a blend of science fiction, dark humor, and magical realism that will appeal to fans of Charlie Jane Anders, Jeff VanderMeer, and Nnedi Okorafor.

The Memory Thief by Lauren Mansy
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

In the city of Craewick, memories reign. The power-obsessed ruler of the city, Madame, has cultivated a society in which memories are currency, citizens are divided by ability, and Gifted individuals can take memories from others through touch as they please.

The Black Hawks by David Wragg
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Dark, thrilling, and hilarious, The Black Hawks is an epic adventure perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch.

How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse is a feminist reimagining of familiar fairytale tropes and a story of resistance and self-determination—how small acts of rebellion can lead a princess to not just save herself, but change the course of history. First in a duology that reimagines fairy tale tropes within a space opera—The Princess Bride meets Princess Leia.

Will you be picking up any of these books? Tell us in the comments below!