August 2019 has some intriguing young adult book releases instore for us and we’ve picked a few that we’re loving! From debut authors such as Autumn Krause and Natasha Diaz, to known authors such as Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry teaming up for a new novel and Sarah Henning’s Sea Witch sequel, you’ll certainly find at least one (maybe several) books to add to your TBR!

Read on to discover our picks and tell us in the comments below if you’re looking forward to any of them!

August 2019 YA Book Releases

All the Bad Apples by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Unflinching and gorgeously written, this feminist novel is important, timely, and a compulsive read. From the highly acclaimed author of the beloved The Accident Season comes an epic breakout novel examining the very topical and controversial issue of women’s sexual and reproductive rights, which has never been higher on the public’s radar.

Sea Witch Rising (Sea Witch #2) by Sarah Henning
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

“The Little Mermaid” takes a twisted turn in this thrilling sequel to villainess origin story Sea Witch, as the forces of land and sea clash in an epic battle for freedom, redemption, and true love.

A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The high-stakes fashion scene of a reimagined nineteenth century Europe takes center stage in this YA debut perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe.

Color Me In by Natasha Diaz
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Debut YA author Natasha Díaz pulls from her personal experience to inform this powerful coming-of-age novel about the meaning of friendship, the joyful beginnings of romance, and the racism and religious intolerance that can both strain a family to the breaking point and strengthen its bonds.

August 2019 YA Book Releases

Ever Alice by H.J. Ramsay
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Alice’s stories of Wonderland did more than raise a few eyebrows—it landed her in an asylum. Now at 15 years of age, she’s willing to do anything to leave, which includes agreeing to an experimental procedure.

Let’s Call It a Doomsday by Katie Henry
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

An engrossing and thoughtful contemporary tale that tackles faith, friendship, family, anxiety, and the potential apocalypse from Katie Henry, the acclaimed author of Heretics Anonymous.

Here There Are Monsters by Amelinda Bérubé
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Blair Witch Project meets Imaginary Girls in this story of codependent sisterhood, the struggle to claim one’s own space, and the power of secrets

100 Days of Sunlight by Abbie Emmons
Goodreads | Amazon

When 16-year-old poetry blogger Tessa Dickinson is involved in a car accident and loses her eyesight for 100 days, she feels like her whole world has been turned upside-down.

August 2019 YA Book Releases

Bright Star by Erin Swan
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Erin Swan’s YA fantasy debut, Bright Star, is an action-packed adventure tale of rebellion, romance, and finding one’s voice in the heart of a storm.

As Many Nows as I Can Get by Shana Youngdahl
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Told in non-linear, vivid first-person chapters, As Many Nows As I Can Get is the story of a grounded girl who’s pulled into a lightning-strike romance with an electric-charged boy, and the enormity of the aftermath.

Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Thelma and Louise gets remade in this powerful, darkly funny teen novel from acclaimed authors Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry. Two teenage girls who have had enough of the controlling men in their lives take their rage on the road to make a new life for themselves.

A Song for the Road by Rayne Lacko
Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

When a tornado destroys his Tulsa home, fifteen-year-old Carter Danforth is trapped in the pawnshop where his daddy hawked his custom, left-handed Martin guitar six years earlier―and then took off, leaving Carter with nothing but a hankering to pluck strings and enough heartache to sing the blues. Injured by the storm, Carter’s mother is laid up in the hospital. She wants Carter to fly out to Reno and stay with her sister. Too bad Carter already spent her hidden cash stash to buy his dad’s guitar. Rather than tell her the truth, he embarks on an epic road trip in search of his father in Santa Monica. But Carter isn’t a runaway. He reckons he’s a “running to.”

Are you looking forward to any of these YA releases? Tell us in the comments below!